Jazmine Sullivan taking a break from the music business

After dropping her sophomore LP Love Me Back in late November 2010,  Jazmine Sullivan made a surprise announcement that she is taking a hiatus from the recording industry.  On her Twitter page, she said:

i’m making an official announcement that i am taking a break from music. i’m trying to figure out who i am… w/out a mike, paper or pen. i promised myself when it wasn’t fun anymore i wouldn’t do it. and here i am.

i’m not saying i wont ever sing again in my life becuz i dont believe that. but in this moment… rt now… i got some things to figure out.

i love u all and appreciate u soooooo much. u have no idea how much u’ve inspired me and fed my ego. but the truth is that i have to believe in me whether you all do or not. and thats what i’m lookin for. that belief in myself. me. I. i love us. thanks for being here for me and riding with me on this journey. let us continue.

No word from the label (J Records) on Jazmine’s future, but this is from the horses mouth, so you have to respect it for now.

via Soul Culture

Comments
2 Responses to “Jazmine Sullivan taking a break from the music business”
  1. vigoronline says:

    Yea, I read about this. But I heard she changed her mind now. I remembering hearing her on Power 99 FM in Philly about 10 yrs. ago. And I had the pleasure of covering her in concert before she signed to J Records. Keep up the good work man.

Leave a Reply

