Exclusive| Lady Luck Interview x 3 New Songs| Features

For a woman who goes by the name “Luck,” a few might say she hasn’t had much of it. Released from her Def Jam deal with an album, Turn My Mic On, that never got to see daylight, Lady Luck could have packed it in, right? Wrong.

Anybody on their grind knows that that hard work equals results and you make your own breaks.  Who knows this better than Lady Luck? In the game for over a decade, the Jersey rhymesayer spoke with FAST in the SLOW LANE on the phone in an exclusive interview where we talked about her longevity as an artist and the motivation behind her new image.  She also goes in on beef between female rappers but also shares her ideas on preserving hip-hop culture.

You don’t want to miss this.

This is the past. Lady Luck has a new look and new attitude.

Getting signed at 17, you’ve seen other female rappers come and go.  What’s going to keep you relevant in 2011?

Reinventing myself. I just evolved into a new MC. I got a whole new wavelength, new music, a whole new look, you know… it’s a new me.  So it’s like a reintroduction to a new person.

I first remember you from The Source’s “Diary of a New Jack.” How good of a look was that for you at the time?  Did it put pressure on you to succeed because people knew the label was pushing you?

I didn’t really get a push from that. What happened was because I rhymed on the radio and got with Def Jam, people were intrigued, you know what I’m saying? They [Def Jam] didn’t contact The Source for that; [writer] Aliya S. King contacted them.  A lot of the press I got was simply off of my story; it wasn’t from them pushing me.  I didn’t really look at it back then as pressure.  Was it a good look? A lot of different things were going on at that time. I was young, I looked different. I didn’t really have a structured team around me and at that time Def Jam was the hottest label in the world.  So it was difficult working with a new artist, and having everybody on the Top 10, trying to give everybody that same attention (laughs).

A lot of people know you from Fight Club and the freestyle battles you’ve been in. What do you say to those who think you’re just a battle rapper?

I think it’s foolish and that’s one of the things I’m trying to work against this year.  I’m not a battle rapper – I have battled, but that’s not what I am. I’m just nice and people fail to realize that so that’s why its time to time to flood them with stuff they never had before because they only know about the battles.  You ain’t see no videos or hear no music, except for the people that had the pleasure meeting me while I been on this grind state to state.  Other than that, people wouldn’t realize that, because the biggest thing publicized in my career so far has been the battles.

I’ve watched interviews where you’ve been really supportive of other female MCs. You said you hoped Nicki Minaj would come out and blow, to hopefully kick down some doors for other females. What do you think about  Foxy, Lil Kim and Nicki targeting each other instead of being supportive and how does that affect the game for female MCs?

It’s personal reasons. I felt this since me and Remy’s  battle It’s pretty gay for men to get involved in women’s affairs. A lot of hoopla been going on.  A lot of men threw shots and these girls took the heat for it.  Kim is taking the biggest heat out of everybody and that’s unfair.  If everybody follows hip-hop the way I do, then they would know what happens when some man says something, and then another man responded, and now somebody has to respond.  So now Kim looks like the bad guy.  People are saying all kinds of terrible things about her in interviews, but it’s not like the stuff that she’s saying ain’t true! Then on top of that, small shots are being thrown. Like the Black Friday mixtape and all that would have never happened if shots weren’t thrown on “Roman’s Revenge.”  You know? But its hip-hop! People are getting their panties in a bunch, but they forgetting about the whole culture. That’s what we love!  Kool Moe Dee, Ice-T and them. C’mon man! These beef records wouldn’t exist; Kay Slay wouldn’t be playing beef records if it wasn’t the culture. But people trying to crucify Kim is not fair. I respect Nicki for what she’s doing, she has done things that I’ve never seen a female rapper do in her short span of her career. She is through the roof! But at the same time they ain’t gotta burn Kim at the stake (laughs).

It seems like for some reason, in hip-hop we don’t respect the legends.  We look at the next new thing and forget the history.

I think we need to leave our artists alone in these time capsules.  It says something about us as a culture – as a people – because that’s the way we treat ourselves.  That’s how we treat the elders in our culture.  It says about how we were raised and how we value our artists.  Like, I’m amazed at Jay-Z’s longevity; you know what I’m saying? It’s such a thing in our culture, ‘cause he’s always been able to be like, “Jay-Z.” As far as Kim’s concerned, it’s a man’s world and we can’t deny that.  [Nicki] got that co-sign. She got that Wayne stamp, that Young Money stamp, so everybody’s riding that wave.

A change I noticed and I’m sure others will notice is in your image.  Before, you used to be rockin’ the fitted hats. Do you feel like have to do this in order to win in hip-hop?

No, I think I just need to look good to win in life.

Okay! (Laughs).  I feel you.

I got things I want to accomplish and do.  I just grew up, I matured. I hope everybody does. Sometimes we don’t, so a lot of people didn’t understand what I was doing.  I didn’t feel like I needed to do it for somebody – because I started losing weight before.  I did it for me.  I’m healthier and sexier – clothes look better (laughs.) I look good.

No doubt.  So with the change in your physical appearance, will that be reflected in the music at all?

Of course! The music can actually make me wanna look different.  I don’t rap about the foolish things I used to do anymore. In my attempt to make music I try to make good stuff.  So it all works together, I feel like the better I look the better the music will be. But I didn’t say I wanted to lose weight just because of the music. Me and my peoples, we go out in Miami I hang with a lot of attractive girls so I want to be attractive too (laughs).

What’s your label status right now?

Right now we got the independent thing going on. I been working with a lot of different artists, trying to see what I want to do of course, but I have fun doing what I’m doing and we’ll see what happens.  We’ll flood them with these videos and tons of good music and let them know about Lady Luck.  They don’t know much. They just seen me rapping hardcore.  They don’t know about ME, so they gotta know me.

So the freestyles and stuff that are coming out, is there a name or a crew that you’re associating these projects with or is it just straight Lady Luck?

No, my entertainment company is called The Greatest Entertainment.  I got a squad called Team Thick. There’s a bunch of people I’m working with. My man V.I.P All-Access, they got an artist they working with. You know it’s like Thanksgiving.  I’m working on something, you working on something, let’s work together. Do different projects and bring it all to the table.

Okay, real quick: Is there one lesson you’ve learned about the business that’s keeping you focused right now?

Don’t listen to nothing nobody says. Feel it in your heart and in your soul. Don’t listen to nobody else. **

Money

No Friend of Mine

Jealousy

Follow Lady Luck on Twitter @iamladyluck

Comments
2 Responses to “Exclusive| Lady Luck Interview x 3 New Songs| Features”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] with one of the hardest-rhyming female MCs of our time, the former Def Jam recording artist, Lady Luck. So take these next couple of weeks to catch up if you haven’t already been checking us […]

  2. […] with one of the hardest-rhyming female MCs of our time, the former Def Jam recording artist, Lady Luck. So take these next couple of weeks to catch up if you haven’t already been checking us […]



Leave a Reply

